Billings Dry Goods Store
L.M. Billing’s operated his Dry Goods store (or general store) in the south room of the Hammer building in the Myers-Hammer block. (Now known as the Union Block) Originally, he operated a grocery on the site, but sold the grocery line to operate the mercantile/dry goods line. An 1896 advertisement for Billings Dry Goods store boasts “L.M. Billing The Reliable General Store always up-to-date and lowest prices in dry goods, notions, cloaks & wraps, groceries, wall paper, and queensware.” Today the site is occupied by the Village Laundromat.